GovernanceFSC Finland is the Association for Responsible Forestry. It is a non-profit organisation open to all interested stakeholders. Its members are grouped in three chambers: social, environmental and economic. The association has a cooperation agreement with FSC International, and promotes FSC at the national and local level in Finland.

FSC Finland is responsible for updating FSC’s Finnish forest management (FM) standard. This standard is the result of negotiations between the economic, environmental and social chambers, and it entered into force in 2011. Since then, approximately 1 070 000 hectares have been FSC-certified in Finland, and the numbers are growing.

FSC Finland - the Association for Responsible Forestry has a Board of Directors consisting of a chairperson and two members from each chamber. Each member also has a personal deputy. The chairperson and board members are elected in the annual meeting of the association. The General Secretary of FSC Finland acts as the secretary of the Board.
FSC Finland currently also has two working groups: the standard working group and the controlled wood working group.

Members of the Board of FSC Finland – the Association for Responsible Forestry


Chairperson: Jari Niemelä

Social chamber

Jari Sirviö, Wood and Allied Workers' Union (member)
Erkki Eteläaho, METO - the Forest Experts’ Association (member)

Jaakko Nippala, The guides and Scouts of Finland (deputy member)
Anne Rautiainen, The Outdoor Association of Finland (deputy member)

Environmental chamber

Jari Luukkonen, WWF Finland (member)
Paloma Hannonen, The Finnish Association for Nature Conservation FANC (member)

Lauri Kajander, The Finnish Nature League (debuty member)
Matti Liimatainen/Greenpeace Finland (deputy member)

Economic chamber

Janne Näräkkä, Finnish Forest Industries Federation (member)
Jussi Ripatti, Metsä Group (member)

Ari Karhapää, Tornator (deputy member)
Pekka Kallio-Mannila, Stora Enso (deputy member)

Members of FSC Finland – the Association for Responsible Forestry

Jari Niemelä

Honorary President
Tari Haahtela

Environmental Chamber

Birdlife Finland
Greenpeace Finland
The Finnish Nature League
The Finnish Association for Nature Conservation
WWF Finland

Economic chamber

Alcea Ab
Innofor Finland Oy
Metsä Group
Metsäteho (R&D in forest operations)
Finnish Forest Industries Federation
Oy Ab Silvacultura
Stora Enso Oyj
Skogssällskapet Finland Oy Ab
UPM-Kymmene Corporation
UPM Silvesta Ltd
Ålands skogsvårdsförening
Tornator Oy
The Trade Association of Finnish Forestry and Earth Moving Contractors

Social chamber

The Consumers' Union of Finland
Wood and Allied Workers' Union
Sámi Reindeer Herders’ Association of Finland
The Saami Council
The Outdoor Association of Finland
METO – Forestry Experts' Association
The Guides and Scouts of Finland
The Union of Professionals in natural, Environmental and Forestry Sciences Loimu

Supporting members

NEPCon Certificering ApS
Bureau Veritas

© Forest Stewardship Council® · FSC® F000211